1. Anuncie Aqui ! Entre em contato fdantas@4each.com.br

[Python] gspread API 502 Server Error when updating a Google Sheet with Python

Discussão em 'Python' iniciado por Stack, Outubro 2, 2024 às 08:52.

1. Stack

Stack Membro Participativo

I'm pretty new to this stuff, so I'm going to provide as much information as possible just in case it is relevant.

In VSCode (1.93.1), I created a Python script which makes updates to a Google Sheets file using the gspread API. The script was working for 6 months with no issues, but it suddenly started throwing a 502 server error even though I hadn't made any changes to the code, or to the modules, or to the python version, or to anything at all. I use python3 when running the program. This error has persisted for two weeks.

<p><b>502.</b> <ins>That’s an error.</ins>
    <p>The server encountered a temporary error and could not complete your request.<p>Please try again in 30 seconds. <ins>That’s all we know.</ins>

The script needs to iterate over 900 elements of an array, and the error occurs at different points each time. On average, it gets through about 100 elements before the error occurs, but it's stopped as soon as the 3rd element and as far as the 351st element, so the timing of the error seems random. In case the gspread API reduced their rate limits, I used the time module to pause the program for 10 seconds on each iteration, and it still ended up with a 502 error on the 152nd iteration.

I'm using Windows 11 Pro and Ubuntu (WSL).

I can provide some of the code if necessary, but since the program is exiting at different points each time, it seems like the issue isn't with the code, especially since the code worked for 6 months before I started getting this error.