1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2. Anuncie Aqui ! Entre em contato fdantas@4each.com.br

Unable to update table containing hyphens in Linked Server to Progress Database using 10.2B...

Discussão em 'StackOverflow' iniciado por fdantas, Janeiro 20, 2015.

1. fdantas

fdantas Administrator Moderador

I currently am using a Linked Server connection in Sql Server 2008 R2 to a Progress database using 10.2B ODBC drivers from Progress. I need to update a table, but the table name contains a hyphen and the fields all contain hyphens.

I see this very similar situation, but there is no answer which helps me, or I simply don't understand the first response. I am not a Progress guy, so if there are Progress settings, I would need help going through those.

I am trying to do the following:

UPDATE OPENQUERY(TESTCON, 'select * from CONTACT.PUB."tbl-mast" where "mast-id" = ''A12''') set "col-name" = 'tom'

This generates the error:

OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "TESTCON" returned message "Multiple-step OLE DB operation generated errors. Check each OLE DB status value, if available. No work was done.".
    Msg 7344, Level 16, State 2, Line 3
    The OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "TESTCON" could not UPDATE table "[MSDASQL]" because of column "col-name". The user did not have permission to write to the column.

I have tried this workaround suggested by progress and get a different error:

UPDATE contact_vwTblmast set col_name = 'tom' where mast_id = 'A12';

But, I end up with a different error:

Msg 7399, Level 16, State 1, Line 2
    The OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "testcon" reported an error. The provider did not give any information about the error.
    Msg 7306, Level 16, State 2, Line 2
    Cannot open the table ""contact"."PUB"."tbl-mast"" from OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "testcon". Unknown provider error.